The END is Just the Beginning

This is the end… as sung by The Doors. I have done it! Blammo! Pow! Thwack! Smack! After 100 days, 113,634 words and 347 pages, I completed my first novel.

2 weeks ago, on November 30th, I wrote the words: THE END

Frank sent his congratulations from the Caribbean, Francine raised her glass of French Bordeaux in toast from a wine bar in Vancouver,  and myself?

I cracked open a crock of 18 year old scotch, poured it into an antique, crystal glass and savoured its smokey, smooth taste in contemplation of what I’d truly accomplished.

Since high school, I’ve dreamed of writing a novel. A horror, or a fantasy of some sort – building a world to rival that of Tolkien, or characters that would make Stephen King proud.  Here’s the thing:

Writing a novel takes work. It takes time. And it takes desire. (And a wee bit of creativity, as well as a bunch of other things). All of these were missing for the past millions of years since I graduated.

But then, something clicked, the stars aligned and in a explosion of brilliance, I wrote a novel. And a historical romance novel at that.

Yes, needless to say that I was surprised. Not only the genre, but how well the story flowed. In fact, it worked so well, the ending is what I wrote immediately after the outline.

And that was just the beginning.

You see, endings are beginnings for new things. Or more of the same SORT of things, just different flavors. I may have written the words, The End, but that just opens the door for the next novel, the 2nd draft of the first novel, the query, the agent, the publisher, a snack here and there, and yes:

A swig ‘o the good stuff.

So to all of my lovely readers, here now and in days to come, I lift my glass to endings, may they be the start of an entirely new adventure!

Fair Winds and Following Seas, lovely reader, wherever your horizons beckon…

Stephen R. Gann

 

 

, , , ,

  1. #1 by particlespin on December 15, 2015 - 6:06 am

    Hi I just discovered your blog. Congratulations on finishing your novel. Best of luck in what comes next!

    • #2 by Stephen R. Gann on December 15, 2015 - 11:51 am

      Thank you very much!!! I’m quite thrilled and already starting the next one.

  2. #3 by Kim Nugent on December 15, 2015 - 8:43 am

    Congratulations! Can’t wait to read it!

    • #4 by Stephen R. Gann on December 15, 2015 - 11:52 am

      Thanks Kim!!! I can’t wait until it’s in the world to read. Crossing fingers ad toes and whatever else may help.

  3. #5 by Susan on December 15, 2015 - 4:34 pm

    My heart is welling in pride. It is great to call you a friend.

    • #6 by Stephen R. Gann on December 15, 2015 - 4:50 pm

      Awww! Thank you, Susan! We are the sum of those we call friend, and certainly those who have played a part I give credit. You’ll enjoy this: one day, when finished writing for the day, my floor was littered with tiny feathers. I was on the right path. ^.~

  4. #7 by Problems With Infinity on December 16, 2015 - 5:53 pm

    That’s incredible, congrats!! I’ve always dreamed of being able to write a novel, but I have absolutely no patience whatsoever. I haven’t read a ton of historical romances, EXCEPT I was totally obsessed with Susan Holloway Scott for awhile and read all her books (except the latest ones). What was yours about?

  5. #8 by Problems With Infinity on December 16, 2015 - 5:54 pm

    I mean WHAT IS YOURS ABOUT? Not was. At least I’m assuming your work still exists and that you didn’t just throw it out a window after writing it- because that’s so something I would do on accident, but I’m really much clumsier than most normal people.

    • #9 by Stephen R. Gann on December 16, 2015 - 10:38 pm

      Thank you very much!!!

      You know? I considered chucking it all, especially after cracking open the scotch in celebration. After all, that was the only reason to write the bloody thing! Get to the scotch! Instead, I thought for a moment and then another and then another. Finally, I decided that it might be worth moving forward with the thing. Maybe even find an agent! ::insert dramatic musical notes here::

      Beneath the Willows is about two people from completely different worlds finding freedom within their love for one another, all set against the backdrop of slavery and power struggles within 19th century New Orleans. 1853 to be precise.

      The synopsis is still a work in progress, but it’s doable for now. Thank you for following!!! I am COMPLETELY honoured that you pay attention, especially with that infinity issue you have going on. ^.~ Cheers! – Stephen

      • #10 by Problems With Infinity on December 17, 2015 - 4:03 am

        Lol- actually I know you’re being silly BUT I almost always have food reward goals for myself to reward hard work. And the reward is ALWAYS more important than what I’ve actually achieved. But you know, whatever… CHOCOLATE!

        The book sounds really cool! I hope you find an agent, that would be so awesome- I can’t even imagine hunting for an agent- sounds terrifying!!!

    • #11 by Stephen R. Gann on December 17, 2015 - 8:50 am

      I was SORT of being silly, but I did save opening the bottle until I wrote the words, THE END. And there was chocolate, too, if I recall. But my recall faded as the scotch flowed.

      As to finding an agent. Build a chocolate shield. Not only are you protected from your fears (or at least temporarily sidetracked), it might act as a lure to the elusive agent – drawing them in close for a deal. Unless, of course, you eat your shield, then you;re out of luck there. Cheers! – Stephen

      • #12 by Problems With Infinity on December 17, 2015 - 3:51 pm

        lol! That plan sounds good in theory but… yeah a chocolate shield wouldn’t last me too long…

  6. #13 by Jay on December 23, 2015 - 6:23 am

    Good for you!

Leave a Reply

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

Blissful Scribbles

Musings through the journey of writing my first novel

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

The Cougars Den

Major League fun since 1991. The official blog of the Kane County Cougars.

amandeepmittal.wordpress.com/

Reviews | Interviews | Giveaways | Recommendations | "I'm Mad About Books"

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

tonysbologna : Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Jenny Martin

Librarian, Writer, Beatle-maniac

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Optimist Superheroes

Make Every Misadventure an Adventure

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

