To Steal or Borrow? Frank Prefers Theft! O-O

Hello Lovely Reader!

Yes, I know. It HAS been more than 7 seven days since I last posted. Perhaps even… TWO WEEKS (insert dramatic music here).

I’ve been busy.

Stealing, in fact. or borrowing – depending upon which side of the fence you are. Frank prefers the dynamics of theft. More action oriented, dangerous-sounding – INTENSE. I mean, borrowing is so slow, long and passive. You can borrow a book, a lump of sugar or a sock. Well, maybe not A sock. Two would be better.

But theft!

Woohoo! We’re onto something here. Call the police, summon the SWAT teams – raise an army! Highway robbery, carjackings, cat burglars and jewel thieves.

Perhaps a bit ‘too’ dramatic? ::nod:: But intrigued? ::shrug:: Maybe…

You see, for the past several days, I’ve spent my time stealing TRAITS: faces, nabbing names, wahooing gestures and looting looks. Filling my bags with all of those details that bring people to life, provide clues into their souls and gift us with knowing. It’s been an exhilarating experience, and believe me when I say that my bags are stuffed to the lip.

I was curious about something that I’d heard from a friend of mine when she described another person. As we stood at the helm of a hostess desk just inside a Mexican Restaurant in Vancouver while waiting to be seated, I overheard my friend tell another friend about someone who was “Filled with Joy.”

It certainly sounds amazing, right? Who wouldn’t want to be filled like that?

But here’s the question: “How do you KNOW that someone is filled with joy?”

Really take some time with this one, because it’s what brings your story to life. How do you know? Most people go into feelings of some sort, while others might describe it conceptually. However, if you were to imagine yourself sipping coffee at a cafe patio, watching someone walk down the sidewalk filled with joy, how would you describe it?

It’s those sort of details that I’ve been stealing. I watch people stroll the streets, give them states and describe those states in such a way that my readers can really experience that state as if they were there.

So see? Stealing is GOOD and that’s okay. Theft is good as well, much better than borrowing. Be a trait thief, and steal some images – bringing your characters to life. It’s intense and your readers will thank you.

Until next time…

Fair Winds and Following Seas, my lovely reader, wherever your horizons beckon…

Stephen R. Gann

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

Blissful Scribbles

Musings through the journey of writing my first novel

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

The Cougars Den

Major League fun since 1991. The official blog of the Kane County Cougars.

amandeepmittal.wordpress.com/

Reviews | Interviews | Giveaways | Recommendations | "I'm Mad About Books"

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

tonysbologna : Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Jenny Martin

Librarian, Writer, Beatle-maniac

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Optimist Superheroes

Make Every Misadventure an Adventure

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

