Change Is Inevitable. And Hurts, too. Yet the Dance Continues On.

Hello Lovely Reader!!!

Fifteen thousand words and climbing! Tonight, I should cross 20K and then, it’s on toward glory.

Frank’s tickled pink, I must say; pleased as punch and happy as a church mouse in the cheese wheel. Or any other happy-like cliche you wish to toss into the fire.

Suffice it to say, I am giddy, too. As well as change will allow me, that is.

Fantasy was tough. I loved it (still do), but connecting with the story was difficult for me. It seemed that for every step forward, I took two steps back trying to explain (and understand) what it was that I had just written. It was time consuming, and in certain moments, down-right misery. I love reading it, I am not so certain I care to write about it. At least not in the genre that it appears.

But Romance…. ::sigh:: For some reason of which I am not yet certain, stories have flown from my fingertips onto page like water from a fire hydrant. I am in the groove and feeling it, as if I’m living vicariously through my characters. The more I research New Orleans, the richer my words become, creating vivid images and characters for you to experience once completed.

So why the title, you ask? Is it the change from fantasy to romance that hurts?

Nope. It’s the changes one experiences in life through growth and new awareness. We exist in a state of change, though most of us fail to see it as it occurs.  When we understand the truth behind the statement, “Change is inevitable,” we can more easily move through it by recognizing its existence.

That’s the theory, anyway.

Some changes take time to swallow, time to process and time to accept. What once seemed fair and good, now passes into shadow and memory – fading into the backdrop of life before disappearing all together. The music changes and a new dance begins.

Sit or twirl, that’s our choice.

I’ve chosen to Dance. I might step on some toes, bump a few people along the way – maybe embarrass myself from lack of ability. But, as a friend of mine recently wrote, “Life’s long if you wait to Dance.” How true…

Frank agrees. So long as it includes finishing this book. And it does, which makes him happy as a peach.

So, now that is off of my chest, I can get back to the project at hand: The Willows.

So until next time, lovely reader. I bid you goodnight and adieu!

-SRG

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by libbycole007 on August 18, 2015 - 12:42 am

    Good luck to you! You’re certainly knocking off the word count 🙂

  2. #2 by Stephen R. Gann on August 18, 2015 - 9:18 am

    Thank you, Libbycole007!

    Like I mentioned above, this story is flowing well. Perhaps it’s because I ‘know’ the characters so well? I connect with the story and it connects with me? Whatever ‘it’ is, I’ll take it with pleasure. I appreciate you taking the time to read and reply. Cheers! -SRG

Leave a Reply

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

Blissful Scribbles

Musings through the journey of writing my first novel

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

The Cougars Den

Major League fun since 1991. The official blog of the Kane County Cougars.

amandeepmittal.wordpress.com/

Reviews | Interviews | Giveaways | Recommendations | "I'm Mad About Books"

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

tonysbologna : Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Jenny Martin

Librarian, Writer, Beatle-maniac

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Optimist Superheroes

Make Every Misadventure an Adventure

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

