What Frank Wants, Frank Gets

Good morning!

As many of you know, my ideal reader is named Frank. Interesting fellow, quite sociable in the mornings – especially if I bring coffee. Which, of course, I always do. I like the company.

Well, he’s grown weary of the Fantasy work and has demanded something new. In fact, he’s insisted.

How do I know? Well, just he other day as I sat down on my deck to begin a morning writing session, Frank pulled up a chair opposite of me, kicked his flip-flops off (too hot for boots, he later told me) and said, “I want something Romantic!”

I practically spit my coffee, sending the cat scurrying for the door. He must be joking. A romance novel?

“Excuse me?” I said, wiping my mouth with the back of my hand. I hadn’t spilled my coffee, which was good. Computers and beverages do not mix well.

“You want a Romance, now?”

He nodded, that friendly smug smile I’ve come to love/hate gracing his face as he lifted the coffee to his mouth. Coffee I’d made for him, of course. He never brought his own.

“Yup,” he said.

“A historical one, too. Without all the magic and swords.” He waved his hand to emphasize his point. “Maybe in New Orleans. You have family there. Make it work.”

I shook my head in disbelief. Yes, I had family there. A strong tie to the city that went back generations, to the very first days of it’s founding. But a Romance? I considered the idea. It would be fun giving it a whirl. Good audience, especially if done well.

“Stevie, my boy,” he said after realizing I wasn’t going to speak.

“You’ve taken so long to write that fantasy novel for me, that my kids have all grown up and don’t want to read about that any more. In fact, I read alone these days, so it’s time for something new.”

I sagged, feeling the weight of his words sink in. That hit home. Sure, I’d taken a wee bit of time to get to the end. I had created a world, for Light’s sake! Did he seriously think that creating worlds happened in seven days?? Well, to be honest, I ‘visited’ a world, really and just took notes; but exploration takes time, resources – things like that.

“Nope,” he said after another swig. “I need something new. Something that makes me dream of things I wish I’d experienced when I was younger. To dance all night, love all day… be with someone who was my soul mate.”

I watched Frank carefully, especially his eyes. They glazed, looking into a distant past or a wished for future – something far yet felt. His voice faded, his breath stilled. He wanted magic he could connect to and build from, that give him hope for something possible, not fantastical. He wanted to cry for love.

I nodded, feeling Frank’s thoughts. I followed his eyes, his gaze, looking over townhouses and the north shore mountains – into the past, to a place by a pond…

“Beside still, dark waters of a Lilly pad pond, a bench sat beneath the Willows.”

And thus it began.

-SRG

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Selected Essays and Squibs by Joseph Suglia

The Web log of Dr. Joseph Suglia

Blissful Scribbles

Musings through the journey of writing my first novel

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

The Cougars Den

Major League fun since 1991. The official blog of the Kane County Cougars.

amandeepmittal.wordpress.com/

Reviews | Interviews | Giveaways | Recommendations | "I'm Mad About Books"

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

tonysbologna : Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Jenny Martin

Librarian, Writer, Beatle-maniac

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Optimist Superheroes

Make Every Misadventure an Adventure

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

